• +44 (0)1353 648648
  • factory@wrightkarts.co.uk

Katsantonis keeps the BKC title in the SWRD family!

Posted in News and tagged , , , , ,

We are delighted to announce that Joseph Katsantonis has been crowned the 2017 BKC Champion.

Photo Credit: Colin Hill Photography

Joseph who drove his Wright Centaur chassis to the title, takes the mantle up from fellow Wright Centaur driver and 2016 BKC Champion Monde Konini Jnr.

The youngest ever BKC Championship winner at only 7 years and 68 days, Joseph is also the only driver to ever win both the BKC Championship and the Bambino “O” plate in the same year.

Josephs spectacular season in the BKC Bambino class boasted a number of highlights including:
6 BKC Championship heat wins
2 BKC Championship final wins
2 Lap records – Larkhall (WSKC) and Whilton Mill (WMKC)

SWRD would like to offer our greatest congratulations to Joseph (and ever-present spanner man/father Andy) for all the hard work and commitment throughout the 2017 season, which cumulated in a fantastic BKC series win.

The title is another notch in the belt for our Wright Centaur chassis, the Bambino classes most successful kart ever:

2014 – Bambino “O” Plate Champion (Oakley Keightly)
2015 – Bambino “O” Plate Champion (Freddie Slater)
2016 – BKC Series Champion (Monde Konini Jnr)
2016 – MSA Series Vice Champion (Monde Konini Jnr)
2017 – BKC Series Champion (Joseph Katsantonis)
2017 – Bambino “O” Plate Champion (Joseph Katsantonis)
2017 – MSA Series Champion (Archie Clark)
2017 – ASKC Bambino Scottish Champion (Zac Drummond)
2017 – Bambino “GP” Plate Champion (Riley Cranham)

SWRD would also like to congratulate all the other Centaur drivers on the BKC grid all of whom performed superbly in 2017. In total the Wright Centaur took the Final victory in 6 out of the 7 BKC Championship rounds with five different drivers!
Round 1 – Riley Cranham
Round 2 – Henry McCarthy & Jake Fraser (Joint winners – Both Wright Centaur)
Round 3 – Lewis Wherrell
Round 4 – Joseph Katsantonis
Round 6 – Joseph Katsantonis
Round 7 – Lewis Wherrell

BKC Final Championship Standings: